Back to the Basics

I’ve heard a lot about folks wanting to get “back to the basics” lately. Most folks cite the economy for this refocusing but I think this is actually a good thing. One of the things I’ve learned {and enjoyed the most} this past year is to slow down and cull out the things that aren’t essential. This paring down has brought some things into sharper focus and caused me to question why I put undue emphasis on unimportant things in times past.

Your personal brand of “back to the basics” may look quite different from mine. For you it may be dinner at home connecting with your family in conversation around the dinner table while saving $$$. For others it may be canning, gardening, or making soap and sewing your own clothes.

Whatever your ‘flavor’ of basics, I think you’ll find some of this useful.

One of my favorites sites has a back to basics series going on right now, but her site is chock full of all things to assist you in living simply. In fact, her tag line says it all:

simplemomlogo

Take a look at her Back to Basics series:

You’ll also find other gems on there like her Spring Cleaning Series and Home Management Notebook and useful downloads for planning.

Back to Basics Videos:

Franklin Springs Family Media has a set of videos featuring skills that my grandmother’s generation considered common knowledge. Mind you … I’m not a proponent of the garb they’re sportin’ but the videos look good.

Each video focuses on things like: Canning, Gardening, Herbs, Candle Making, Soap Making, and Bread Making.

Check ‘em out here: The Complete Homestead Blessings Series

And here is a promo video for the set:

Personally, I’d love to learn how to can veggies for use during the winter months. I think it would really be a great skill to acquire.

What I’ve Been Doing:

Besides culling down my schedule (and reading what everyone else is saying about simplicity) I’ve been actively pursuing some ways to get back to the basics around here. I’m well aware that other times when I’ve tried to do this the busyness of life has crept back in, so I’ll try to keep you posted on my progress.

Have you been getting back to the basics? What have you been doing and what resources have you found useful?

2 thoughts on “Back to the Basics

  1. melodie says:

    downside got rid of the house the car cut the cable and tried to buy what on sale and read from the libarty i hate it but i do it

Leave a Reply

