What’s on the Horizon?

There’s quite a bit on the horizon, really. December is busy for everyone, so I thought I’d give you a preview of some of the things you’ll be seeing on this blog in coming days, as well as a glimpse into what’s coming up in my life.

soulmends

Blog Giveaways:
First, I’ve got the first of two blog giveaways coming up! If you (or someone you know) are into books, then you might be interested in winning a copy of When the Soul Mends. I’ll be posting a full review on Monday as well as the giveaway rules. For now, here’s a short synopsis of the book.

After receiving a desperate and confusing call from her sister, Hannah Lapp reluctantly returns to the Old Order Amish community of her Pennsylvania childhood.

Having fled in disgrace two years earlier, she finally has found a satisfying role in the Englischer world, as well as love with Martin Palmer, a man with whom she can safely entrust her heart. But almost immediately after her arrival in Owl’s Perch, the disapproval of those who ostracized her reopens old wounds.

As Hannah is thrown together with former fiancé Paul Waddell to work for her sister Sarah’s mental health, unexpected truths surface about the events during Hannah’s absence, and she faces an agonizing decision. Will she choose the Englischer world and the man who restored her hope, or will she heed the call to return to the Plain Life—and perhaps to her first love?

This intriguing final novel in the Sisters of the Quilt series is richly textured with authentic details drawn from the author’s real-life connections with Amish Mennonite and Old Order Amish families.

Blog Show and Tell:
I’ll also be sharing some of the latest and greatest sites I’ve stumbled upon with my Blog Show and Tell series. I think you’ll find a little something for everyone here.  To get you started, here are links to two of my absolute favorite photographers. Yeah, they aren’t really blogs but I figured you’d like to see ’em nonetheless. I know and love both of these ladies ~ and HIGHLY recommend them to you!! 

Reviews, Life Stories, and fun:
The rest of the month you can expect some posts regarding my upcoming travels. Early next week I head to Florida to help take care of my mom. She had some minor surgery and we’re going to torture … er, I mean help her during her recovery. So, I’m sure to hit the beach and Destin Commons for some much needed retail therapy!

We’ll also have some fun on the blog with some Notes from the Deep South posts and a new blog design!!

Be sure to enjoy the coming weeks and don’t stress out too much over the economy and Christmas! After all, the focus of Christmas isn’t really all those gifts and consumerism. Be grateful for what you have and see if you can’t do something nice for someone less fortunate than yourself.

Leave a Reply

