Blue Tarp Project

I know my readership may not interact with many of the blogs I follow, but I wanted to make you aware of a project headed by Dino Rizzo and Healing Place Church in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Many of the other blogs I read have been posting about this and I wanted to pass it along as well.

View the video of Pastor Rizzo discussing the need: http://vimeo.com/1689234

(I would very much like to embed the video but it seems that WordPress – ugh – won’t do that. Perhaps it’s a good thing – that way you can see the other videos on the Vimeo page relating to this need.)

After watching the video, if you’d like to purchase a blue tarp (or two) to assist with meeting this need, just visit this link:

http://www.tarpsplus.com/hurricanetarps.html  and have it shipped to Healing Place Church at the following address:

Healing Place Church
19202 Highland Road
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
225.753.2273

I know it is hard to understand for those of you who have not experienced life without power for weeks on end or have never tried to figure out how to prepare meals and take care of daily necessities for a family in conditions such as this. My parents dealt with some of this during Hurricane Ivan a few years back and any help is good help.

In other News:
Currently, the Red Cross is staging in Crestview (where my parents live) in preparation for Ike. Shelters are being prepped and mom’s organization, Jobs Plus, is preparing to assist possible refugees. I’m probably going to stay put here for a bit to see if I can be of assistance should Ike impact areas close enough to bring evacuees this direction. I’ll be sure to keep everyone posted on that situation as well.

Leave a Reply

