Word for the Year

Well, I’ve decided that my word for 2007 is going to be: DISCOVER

I want to take the time this year to DISCOVER. For instance, I want to discover life anew through the eyes of my four year old; I want to discover a new way to look at things, a new perspective – if you will. I want to discover (or rather REdiscover) the fun in life and to enjoy the journey. I am making a conscious decision to DISCOVER what God has for me in 2007 and to embrace the fullness of discovery and all that it entails.

Discover:
to make known or visible : EXPOSE b archaic : DISPLAY2 a : to obtain sight or knowledge of for the first time : FIND b : FIND OUT : to make a discovery

DISCOVER, ASCERTAIN, DETERMINE, UNEARTH, LEARN mean to find out what one did not previously know.
DISCOVER may apply to something requiring exploration or investigation or to a chance encounter.
ASCERTAIN implies effort to find the facts or the truth proceeding from awareness of ignorance or uncertainty.
DETERMINE emphasizes the intent to establish the facts definitely or precisely.
UNEARTH implies bringing to light something forgotten or hidden.
LEARN may imply acquiring knowledge with little effort or conscious intention (as by simply being told) or it may imply study and practice.

This year I want to discover, ascertain, determine, unearth, and learn. I want to truly LIVE life instead of listlessly floating on the prevailing current. I want to be proactive rather than reactive. And I want to wring every bit of “goodie” out of life this year!

I will shift my perspective this year. I will enjoy the journey! How about you?

Leave a Reply

